• sanferno
    Hi there!

After using for some years OneDrive and Amazon Cloud Drive for backing up my data (~4TB), I ended a bit fed up because of the continuous changes on offers. I've been testing Azure blob storage for a few months thanks to a sponsorship I've received from Microsoft. While expenses are free of charge, I've been using RA-GRS redundancy but, this credit will expire on September and I don't know if change it to LRS, basically to save money (from ~175€ to 92€, using "archive" tier).

My back up strategy includes as first option HDDs (two "naked" drives mirrored), apart from that annually I burn Blu Ray discs (HTL) with all the new data generated over the last year. HDDs are stored at home, and BDs are at the same building but in a room placed one floor higher, this way I keep them separated (concrete floor). So, I have 3 copies, 2 in HDDs and 1 in BDs.

As you could argue, the BD copy is not 100% isolated from the HDDs, so the cloud copy, is really one that's far away from home so, having in mind my situation, what would you suggest me to do, using LRS or RA-GRS?

Regards.
  • Denis Gorbachev
    hi!

what would you suggest me to do, using LRS or RA-GRS?sanferno

For the given situation, I'd say that LRS will be enough (you don't need to meet any SLA's, right?). You still have your local copies and chances, that your drive AND BDs are destroyed at the same time as the whole Microsoft data center is quite low (minimal actually).

While we are on the topic of prices, have you considered BackBlaze B2 for the cloud solution? They are cheaper/better suited for home usage. They don't offer such feature diversity as Microsoft, but if we are talking data storage-wise, it'd been my choice.
  • sanferno