• Ross Owen
    Hi there - I hope someone can help me - I'm new to the whole AWS Glacier thing.

I have a number of backup sets that are going to S3 then an archive policy to move to Glacier after seven days. The storage cost of Glacier seems great - BUT - I'm being charged a lot ($130 this month, projected $350 next month) for Glacier requests. I did 2.4M Glacier requests last month and am projected to do a lot more this month.

Am I right in thinking these are upload requests from S3 to Glacier? Is there any way around them?

Thanks for your help
  • David Gugick
    Just to confirm, you are backing up to S3 Standard and then have a Lifecycle Policy set to move that data to Glacier after 7 days. Can you verify the following, please:
    * Does your Retention Policy in CloudBerry Backup ensure that all backups are being kept for a minimum of 90 days? Glacier has a 90 day minimum retention
    * Have you performed any restores off the data that was located in Glacier? If so, how many files and how many GBs?
    * How many files and how much data is protected and stored in Glacier (please just estimate)

Generally speaking, if data is left in Glacier untouched, the costs are low. But if you're restoring, then you need to be prepared for some additional costs. I may be stating the obvious, but Glacier is designed for long-term archiving of data that you do not plan to restore, but is there if you need to do so in an emergency.

If you have planned restores of data, then you should not place it in Glacier.

Please elaborate on your use case and we may be able to provide some additional guidelines.

If you feel, however, that the data was not touched, then please open send us the diagnostic logs via the Tools - Diagnostic menu option and refer to this thread.

Thanks.
  • Ross Owen
    Hi David

Thank you.

Yes I am backing up to S3 Standard and the Lifecycle Policy is set to archive to Glacier after 7 days.